FEAST OF SAINT JOSEPH – SPOUSE OF OUR LADY AND PATRON OF THE UNIVERSAL CHURCH

 ST JOSEPH PATRON OF THE CHURCH Unknown, 19th Century, Italy

Feast of St. Joseph – Epistle/Gospel – Novena – Final Day

Now the generation of Christ was in this wise. When as his mother Mary was espoused to Joseph, before they came together, she was found with child, of the Holy Ghost. Whereupon Joseph her husband, being a just man, and not willing publicly to expose her, was minded to put her away privately. But while he thought on these things, behold the angel of the Lord appeared to him in his sleep, saying: Joseph, son of David, fear not to take unto thee Mary thy wife, for that which is conceived in her, is of the Holy Ghost. And she shall bring forth a son: and thou shalt call his name JESUS. For he shall save his people from their sins. Now all this was done that it might be fulfilled which the Lord spoke by the prophet, saying: Behold a virgin shall be with child, and bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us. And Joseph rising up from sleep, did as the angel of the Lord had commanded him, and took unto him his wife. And he knew her not till she brought forth her firstborn son: and he called his name JESUS. (Matthew 1:18-25)

______________

SAINT JOSEPH, HUSBAND OF OUR LADY AND PATRON OF THE UNIVERSAL CHURCH 

Double of First Class / White Vestments

Missa – ‘Justus ut palma’

holy sacrifice of the mass propers 2

I will go in unto the altar of God. 

Unto God who giveth joy to my youth…

Psalm 42 – Judica me, Deus    

Judge me, O God, and defend my cause against an ungodly nation; O deliver me from the wicked and deceitful man. For thou art the God of my strength; why hast thou put me from thee? And why go I mourning, whilst the enemy oppresseth me? O send out thy light and thy truth, they have led me, and brought me unto thy holy hill, and into thy dwellings. Then will I go in unto the altar of God,  even unto God that giveth joy to my youth. And upon the harp will I give thanks unto thee, O God, my God:  why art thou sad, O my soul? and why art thou troubled within me? O put thy trust in God, for I will yet praise him,  the health of my countenance, and my God. Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Ghost. As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end.  Amen.

I will go in unto the altar of God. Unto God who giveth joy to my youth…

INTROIT – Psalm 91: 13-14

The righteous shall flourish like a palm-tree, and shall spread abroad like a cedar in Lebanon. They that are planted in the house of the Lord, shall flourish in the courts of the house of our God.

It is a good thing to give thanks unto the Lord, and to sing praises unto thy Name, O Most Highest.

The righteous shall flourish like a palm-tree…

Justus ut palma florébit:  sicut cedrus Líbani multiplicábitur:  plantátus in domo Dómini:  in átriis domus Dei nostri.

Bonum est confitéri Dómino:  et psállere nómini tuo, Altíssime.

Justus ut palma florebit…

EPISTLE 

The Lesson is taken from the Book of Wisdom

Ecclesiasticus 45: 1-6

Beloved of God and men, whose memorial is blessed. He made him like to the glorious saints, and magnified him, so that his enemies stood in fear of him.  By his words he caused the wonders to cease, and he made him glorious in the sight of kings, and gave him a commandment for his people, and shewed him part of his glory.  He sanctified him in his faithfulness and meekness, and chose him out of all men.  He made him to hear his voice, and brought him into the dark cloud, and gave him commandments before his face, even the law of life and knowledge, that he might teach Jacob his covenants, and Israel his judgments.

Joseph, son of David, fear not to take unto thee Mary thy wife, for that which is conceived in her is of the Holy Ghost -St. Matthew 1 -20

GOSPEL

The continuation of the Holy Gospel according to St. Matthew

Matthew 1: 18-2

When Mary the mother of Jesus was espoused to Joseph, before they came together, she was found with child of the Holy Ghost. Whereupon Joseph her husband, being a just man and not willing publicly to expose her, was minded to put her away privately. But while he thought on these things, behold the Angel of the Lord appeared to him in his sleep, saying: Joseph, son of David, fear not to take unto thee Mary thy wife: for that which is conceived in her is of the Holy Ghost. And she shall bring forth a Son, and thou shalt call His name Jesus: for He shall save His people from their sins.

Sermon 

        ____________________

NOVENA TO THE GLORIOUS ST. JOSEPH, SPOUSE OF OUR LADY AND PATRON OF THE UNIVERSAL CHURCHFINAL DAY

His Happiness, even in this Life

Holy Church compares the happiness of St. Joseph in this life to that of the saints in Heaven, because upon earth he was permitted to see the Man-God face to face, during thirty years, and the glory of His divinity, which, as we are permitted to believe, was from time to time manifested to him.

Joseph was blessed, because he learned from the examples of Jesus Christ the eight beatitudes, infallible pledges of eternal beatitude.

He was blessed, because he practiced them all in great perfection and to the end, under the eyes of Him who was to recompense them.

St Joseph Patron of the Catholic Church

Prayer

To thee alone, blessed Joseph, does the Church address these words:  Equal in this life to the inhabitants of heaven, thou sharest in their happiness, thou enjoyest God. No one, here on earth, ever enjoyed God as thou, who, day and night, hadst Him before thy eyes, or pressed Him in thy arms ; who received from the Infant Jesus so many caresses, lights, and consolations. I rejoice, I congratulate thee on this foretaste of happiness. Doubtless it was due to thee in preference to all others, since thou hadst imbibed at the eight beatitudes, during the many years that Jesus held them open to thee by the examples of His life. Thou knowest, great saint, that Jesus has shown me them also, that I may draw thence sanctity and happiness; yet, till now I have profited but little. Obtain me the grace to attach myself henceforth to His doctrine, and to commence to reproduce it in my works. I know I cannot be happy unless I become poor in spirit, meek and humble of heart, pacific, merciful, hungering after justice, and disposed to suffer persecution for it. But, accustomed to flatter my senses, to follow my inclinations, how can I raise myself above nature, how apply my mind and at tach my heart to spiritual and heavenly habits? I need for that a lively faith, to raise me above all sensible and earthly objects. Do thou, amiable saint, obtain for me this faith: it will give life to my works, and, in the practise of the beatitudes, I shall find here below that happiness which is a foretaste of the felicity of the elect. Amen.

The Infant Jesus made St. Joseph taste ineffable sweetness by His looks, His embraces, and all the marks of truly filial tenderness.  – St. Bernard

My Son so well hid the power of His divinity, that Joseph and I alone could recognize it. Joseph was most patient in poverty, assiduous in laboring, mild towards those who reproached him, and most zealous in my service.  – St. Bridget

Prayer

Saint Joseph, I, your unworthy child, greet you. You are the faithful protector and intercessor of all who love and venerate you. You know that I have special confidence in you and that, after Jesus and Mary, I place all my hope of salvation in you, for you are especially powerful with God and will never abandon your faithful servants. Therefore I humbly invoke you and commend myself, with all who are dear to me and all that belong to me, to your intercession. I beg of you, by your love for Jesus and Mary, not to abandon me during life and to assist me at the hour of my death. Glorious Saint Joseph, spouse of the Immaculate Virgin, obtain for me a pure, humble, charitable mind, and perfect resignation to the divine Will. Be my guide, my father, and my model through life that I may merit to die as you did in the arms of Jesus and Mary. Loving Saint Joseph, faithful follower of Jesus Christ, I raise my heart to you to implore your powerful intercession in obtaining from the Divine Heart of Jesus all the graces necessary for my spiritual and temporal welfare, particularly the grace of a happy death, and the special grace I now implore: (Mention your request).

Guardian of the Word Incarnate, I feel confident that your prayers in my behalf will be graciously heard before the throne of God. Amen.

Memorare

Remember, most pure spouse of Mary, ever Virgin, My loving protector, Saint Joseph, that no one ever had recourse to your protection or asked for your aid without obtaining relief. Confiding, therefore, in your goodness, I come before you and humbly implore you. Despise not my petitions, foster-father of the Redeemer, but graciously receive them. Amen.

A prayer to St. Joseph

“0 holy Patriarch, I rejoice with thee at thy exalted dignity, by which thou wert deemed worthy to act as father to Jesus, to give Him orders, and to be obeyed by Him, whom heaven and earth obey. 0 great Saint, as thou wert served by a God, I too wish to be taken into thy service. I choose thee after Mary, to be my chief advocate and protector. I promise to honor thee every day by some special act of devotion, and by placing myself daily under thy protection. By that sweet company, which Jesus and Mary gave thee in thy lifetime, protect me all the days of my life, so that I may never separate from my God by losing His grace. My dear St. Joseph pray to Jesus for me. Certainly He can never refuse thee any thing as He obeyed all thy orders on earth.

St. Alphonsus Liguori

Leave a Reply

